hits counter

How to Buy Diamonds and Be Satisfied With Your Purchase

Post 18 of 37

Diamonds are precious and very expensive gems and purchasing one is a serious matter. If you want to know how to buy diamonds and be sure you have made the right choice, you must pay attention to the 4 C’s, namely color, cut, carat weight and clarity.


The colors of the diamonds are graded on a scale similar to the alphabet, the difference being that the letters A, B and C are missing, starting from D and continuing to Z. D is the best and the rarest color and the most expensive too. Some diamonds in the ending zone of the alphabet have yellow shades and are not considered special colors while most buyers opt for colors from D to J.


This feature indicates how the diamond was cut and is an important part in how to buy diamonds that are genuine. The cut is the only contribution of the human hand, transforming a brute stone into a diamond faceted and polished in various forms. The “cut “refers to the diamond’s proportions and finishes while the” form” is the final result after the cutting and polishing processes have been completed. The first objective of a diamond cutter-carver is to obtain the largest possible diamond from the stone and then to achieve maximum optical beauty in a suitable form. The usual cut consists in 57 facets and there are more than 255 ways to cut a diamond. When a diamond is cut in the correct proportions and well finished and polished, the light refracts inside it and then is reflected on the outside from one facet to another through the top of the stone, creating a fire of bright, scattered and scintillated light.

Carat weight

Of the 4 C’s, the carat weight is probably the most important factor in terms of customer preferences for rarity and value, being generally the first analyzed aspect. In fact, the carat weight, or how hard a diamond is, is the most significant factor, for the price of a diamond increases significantly as his weight increases. Because, by nature, a two carat diamond is much harder to find, its value is about 3 times bigger than a 1 carat diamond of comparable quality. Statistically speaking, a 1 carat diamond appears to 1 million mined diamonds and a 2 carats diamond is extracted in 5 million diamonds. Therefore, all details indicate that a 2 carat diamond is very precious based on its rarity factor.


In order to discover how to buy diamonds correctly, you must check the clarity of the stone because its value also depends on this aspect. Observing the interior of a stone regarding its purchase is a common practice since the twentieth century and started in Paris, the main commercial center for diamonds. In order to differentiate the few clean and pure diamonds from the many ones with impurities or inclusions, diamonds have been divided in two categories: pure and pique. The clarity of a diamond is determined using a magnifying glass which magnifies ten times under controlled light. The GIA grading scale was established in the early 1920s to determine the clarity of the diamonds and consists in 11 levels of clarity. The most common are:

  1. flawless(FL) with no internal inclusions
  2. very-very slightly included(VVSI) with very small inclusions
  3. very slightly included(VSI) with small inclusions
  4. slightly included(SI) with almost visible inclusions
  5. included(I) with visible inclusions.